How does the system work in Canada?

The medical laboratory technologist profession is currently regulated in 9 Canadian provinces. Medical Laboratory Technologists are not regulated in British Columbia, and the Territories.

Each province has its own MLT regulatory body. The requirements for registration are similar in each province. If a regulator in another province assesses you and determines that your education and experience do not qualify you to be an MLT, you will not get a different result if you apply to a regulator in an alternate province. This is because all the provincial MLT regulatory bodies have worked together to develop criteria and requirements for registration.

Next: Medical Laboratory Technologist Self Assessment